Jesus is My Valentine (And Yours!)

Roses are Red

Violets are Blue

God made a Valentine—Jesus

Especially for You!

The Kid’s Club kids decorated cards with this poem Monday. They were instructed to give the card to whomever they wanted. I was the recipient of my daughter’s card.

Valentine’s Day is a bittersweet holiday. For some, the day comes and goes without a hiccup. However, some women approach it with out-of-reach expectations. This leads men to tiptoe into the day fearing they will fail at expressing their love properly. And that’s just married couples!

I know these feelings and actions all too well. I used to be one of those women. My thoughts on how a man should express his love toward a woman far exceeded reality. For that reason I was typically disappointed. I know I’m not alone. I’ve counseled many ladies the day after Valentine’s Day.

After fourteen years, I have dropped my expectations on what the perfect Valentine’s Day looks like because, let’s face it, kids will throw up, keys will get locked in the car, and basketball practice will interrupt supper. In addition, my husband has learned a few things. He pays attention when I tell him my wishes. He (literally) takes notes and goes out of his way to make the day special. I am blessed to be married to a man who desires to express his love to me.

However, not all relationships work as well as ours. That’s why I love the above poem. When I first read it, the meaning escaped me. But after reading it a second time, I got it. Jesus is our Valentine from God! Our age or gender or marital status doesn’t matter. Jesus came to earth, died, and rose again for each and every one of us. He patiently waits for us to respond to Him. After we do, He saturates us with His love. He is the ultimate Valentine!

floating candle

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 9:38-39).

What are your thoughts?

