Dance

I’m so giddy I’m about to burst. As I write my husband is driving home from the airport. He has been gone for two weeks on a mission trip. I feel like a school girl with a new boyfriend. Kenneth noticed. He said he could tell I was excited about daddy’s homecoming. It must show in my face. (I think I’m beaming!)

I don’t allow myself to feel this way too often. Total fulfillment. Complete joy. Jubilation.

How about you? Do you giggle? Do you sink into the moment and allow bliss to seep into the core of your being? Do you dance with delight?

If your answer is no, why not?

Personally, I’m always peeking around the corner, waiting for “the inevitable” to happen. While I am thrilled to see my beloved again, I hear this tiny voice (Satan) whispering, “He may still be in a car accident.” I am afraid to get too pumped up because “in this world you will have trouble.” (John 16:33)

Of course I will have trouble in this world but that doesn’t mean I have to live like I am permanently afflicted. So tonight I will face Satan and those thoughts and say, “Good-bye.” God gifted me with a terrific husband and I will rejoice!

“For the LORD God is a sun and shield; The LORD gives grace and glory; No good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly.” Psalm 84:11 (NASB)

“If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him!” Matthew 7:11 (NASB)

So excuse me; I am off to dance in my living room in thanks for God’s goodness and the gifts He has bestowed on me. Hopefully my daughter will join me (and I won’t embarrass my twelve-year-old in front of his friend).

On the Liberian Beach
Hope2Liberia Mission Trip Feb. 2013

8 thoughts on “Dance

  1. I love this, Barb! I love the freedom and excitement I hear in your voice. Oh, that we’d be faithful to always recognize His blessings and thank Him with that kind of enthusiasm!

    Have fun!

    Like

  2. loved this…I can see you beaming.  attached is a post I received from my cousin…it fits this…its on my refridgerator..love it…

    Like

What are your thoughts?

