Who Do You Represent?

newspapersKenneth is running a paper route for some friends while they are on vacation. Saturday morning he got up, folded the newspapers, and finished the route before I rolled out of bed. (I had actually forgotten he had to get up early to complete this task.) When I came down the stairs Kenneth told me it sprinkled for a few minutes and then stopped while he was delivering papers, and he hadn’t put them into plastic bags. I confessed I should have looked at the weather and informed him it was supposed to rain.

I suggested he go back to the houses and put the papers into plastic bags. His face showed his lack of desire. I told him I understood how he felt, but if someone complained it would be his friends who got in trouble. I left it at that.

Fifteen minutes later Kenneth said he was leaving to go back over the route. (I’m so proud!)

This incident reminded me that just as those in Congress are to represent their constituents, we are representatives.

My friend tells her children when they leave the house, “Remember you leave here a member of the Jones family, and you will return a member of the Jones family. Don’t forget who you are.” I think she is reminding her children to stick to the family values they’ve been taught and not to be swayed by peer pressure. The children represent the Jones family.

As Christians, we are ambassadors for Christ. We are His representatives; and as such, we are to do His will and spread His message because our actions reflect upon Him. What others believe about us will possibly affect their beliefs about Christ.

Surprisingly (we hadn’t compared notes on what each of us was writing), my husband’s sermon supported these thoughts. In Acts 23, the high priest struck Paul on the mouth. When Paul questioned his actions, those near Paul told him he had insulted the high priest.

“Paul replied, ‘Brothers, I did not realize that he was the high priest’” (Acts 23:5).

There are several explanations as to why Paul made this statement. One is that Paul was being sarcastic because the high priest’s actions did not reflect the God he was representing. Another possible reason is that Paul’s eyesight was bad, and he truly could not see who was talking to him. But even if this were the case, Paul should have recognized him through his behavior. Whatever the reason behind Paul’s statement, the fact remains that the high priest was not acting appropriately for his position. Therefore, Paul did not know him for who he was and who he represented.

  • Will people recognize us as Christians?
  • Do our actions reflect Christ?
  • How well are we representing Him?

Besides Christ, who else do we represent? The answer for me includes: my husband, my family, my church, my employer, my community, and my country.

How about you? Who do you represent?

capital building

2 thoughts on “Who Do You Represent?

  1. Barb, I always found that story about Paul and the High Priest very interesting, but I had never considered the point you make about his behavior leading to Paul’s confusion about who he was. Your post asks a question worthy of much reflection. “And who is equal to such a task?” (2 Corinthians 2:16).

    Like

  2. Julia,
    Don’s sermon brought this to light. It’s fun when God talks to Don and I about the same subject and we are unaware it is happening. He reinforced His point to me through Don’s sermon – and through our Sunday school class.
    I think the question helps us stop and think before reacting in many circumstances.
    Thanks for reading and responding!!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

