Puzzling

puzzle piecesHave you noticed how puzzle pieces, when first poured from the box, look like a disorderly mess that will never come together? Each piece seems to be a puzzle in and of itself. This is especially true if there is one particular color running throughout the puzzle, as was the case for me last night. It was a collage of flowers, most of them pink.

There are those who say looking at the finished picture while working is cheating. I am not one of them. I believe the box is akin to an instruction manual. I wouldn’t try to put a bicycle together without reading the directions, so why would I put a puzzle together without looking at the box?

piecing together puzzleWhat I observed specifically while piecing together this puzzle was: the more I studied the box, the clearer each piece became. By the time I was halfway through I could easily distinguish which flower each piece belonged to:  This solid magenta piece belongs at the top; this feathery fuchsia piece fits with the side flower; this pale pink piece with rose lines goes on the bottom left. Of course, with this information, finishing the puzzle was easier.

Isn’t that the way it is with the Bible? I have heard it referred to as God’s instruction manual. I believe the Bible is so much more, but that name is suitable. The more I study this Manual, the easier it is to see how the pieces of life fit together. The category each event matches becomes obvious: That behavior is sin; that action reflects truth; his ministry represents God’s justice, she is showing compassion; that family is walking in obedience.

The question then becomes: what will we do with this information? Will we study God’s Word more thoroughly? Will we apply His truths in the midst of our puzzling lives?

puzzle

What are your thoughts?

