Stay the Course

strawberriesOur strawberries are almost done for the year . . . and I’m grateful. I’ve spent numerous hours weeding, picking, cleaning, and cutting strawberries. I’m ready to move on to raspberries or peaches. However, I am glad I stayed the course ‘til the end because the last batch yielded the biggest and best tasting strawberries of the season, something we would have missed if I had quit early. Besides the immediate benefits we reaped, we blessed others and will enjoy the fruit of our labor over the winter with frozen strawberries and jam.

Unfortunately, I tire of repetitive tasks easily. I was reminded of this as our school season wound down. Inevitably, during the last month, I fight the urge to scrap everything and call it a year. Thankfully, I chose this year, as in the past, to lean in and drive through.

curriculum 2Typically I am re-energized as I prepare for the next year. Fresh books. White paper. Sharp pencils. But as I opened next year’s boxes and faced my 15th year of homeschooling, I felt dread in place of excitement. The harder curriculum equates to longer days. And, frankly, I’m drained. I’m, well . . . over it (at least today). I’m ready to move on to the next phase of my life, whatever that may be. At the same time, I recognize as well as I can that our family is called to homeschool. So I must continue for, probably, eight more years.

Knowing the end benefits will outweigh the heartaches and hard work keeps me going. Just as the end-of-the-season strawberries were the best, I assume persevering to the end-of-the-season school days will yield the best product—well-rounded, Godly, educated adults. So I will stay the course.

In the midst, I trust God will provide the strength, determination, and perseverance necessary to not only continue the homeschooling journey, but enjoy it as well.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” (Hebrews 12:1-3)

What course are you on that you are weary of?

What keeps you going?

strawberries 2

One thought on “Stay the Course

What are your thoughts?

