Household Harmony

At times I feel like an orchestra conductor. Each musician (family member) sits in his/her section of the orchestra pit while I stand in the front frantically waving my baton to guide each musician. I hope each plays the correct note at the correct time so the instruments harmonize and make music.

Let me illustrate. Yesterday, I raised my baton and began my day by delegating a task to each of the musicians, uh, children. “JT, vacuum the downstairs. Kevin, clean the shower. Melinda, bring your dirty clothes down. Kenneth, unload the dishwasher.” (sung to the tune of Row, Row, Row Your Boat)

conductor calendar

Between assignments, I scheduled necessary appointments. I pulled out my sheet music, uh, calendar, and made calls. I fit Melinda’s eye appointment in between her piano lesson and supper on Tuesday, wedged a hair appointment between school and church on Wednesday, and squeezed in a dentist appointment Friday afternoon—all while continuing to keep each child on task.

Later, as I stirred supper, JT called and asked me to pick him up from school and drop him at work. I turned off the burner, grabbed my keys, and headed out the door. As I drove, he asked to borrow the car Saturday. I consulted my planner and concluded he could have the car for 53 minutes—after Kenneth’s football game and before Don and I went out with friends.

Back home, I responded to the blinking light on the answering machine and heard out-of-town relatives state they would be arriving in a few weeks. I marked the calendar and deduced we would need to cram extra school work in the day before their arrival as well as the day after their departure. Additionally, I need to re-schedule three dentist appointments and miss a home school event.

As moms, it is our job to keep our households running smoothly, just as an orchestra director ensures the musicians know their parts and play on key. But while I am the conductor, God is the composer. He writes the music. I read it. I decipher the score and teach each child his/her part.

1 Corinthians refers to the gifts each member of a church has and the role each plays. We should carry this principle over into our homes. Every child is gifted differently and plays a distinctive role (instrument) within the family. It’s our job to make certain the music sounds the way the Author intends. That means leading each child in the direction God wants (character building) while keeping the music flowing (in the midst of life).

“There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men” (1 Cor. 12:4-6).

*This piece was originally written and presented to Enlightened Home School Group in fall 2011 but is more accurate today than it was at the time.

What are your thoughts?

