Longing for More – Part 2

Don and David praying

The following is a reprint of an article I wrote for SEEK. The original publication date is May 6, 2012. Click here for Part 1.

Offer the Bread of Life to Others

Perhaps your life, like mine, seems mundane and ordinary. Maybe you are asking: How can I offer the Bread of Life to others?

Begin in the home. Offer a kind word and a listening ear to your spouse. Nurture your children’s souls while nourishing their physical bodies. Have supper as a family around the dining room table. While you eat, read a word of Scripture, say a short prayer, ask each person about his/her day.

Develop personal relationships. I purposefully befriended a woman having marital problems. She needed someone to whom she could reveal the intimate details of her life. I listened to her, cried with her, and prayed for her as I gently led her to the foot of the cross.

Open your home. Jesus admonishes, “Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” (Matt. 5:16) You may be thinking: I don’t know how to cook. My house is a mess. I don’t have time. I have recited these excuses. But once I decided relationships were more important than appearances and invited others to break bread in our home, I found my guests relaxed as they realized I do not keep a perfect house, do not have perfect children, and cannot make a gourmet meal. This genuine environment created a calming effect.

These small gestures are only a few examples of how we can introduce Christ to the world. As you cultivate a relationship with Him through daily disciplines of Bible reading, prayer, and fellowship with other believers, God will open your eyes to opportunities for ministering. He will use your gifts to glorify Himself. I pray as I rise in the morning, “Lord, less of me and more of You. Lord, Your agenda, not mine.” I am far from perfect, but as God molds me into His image, He directs my path and shines His light through me. As I help others, Jesus restores me. As I lift my eyes from my own circumstances and see others as Jesus does, He changes me.

I pray that as you help others, Jesus will restore and mold you. May your story be more like these:  Longing for Mr. Right, a teenage girl attends a worship service. Recently demoted, a husband calls his pastor. Tired of her seemingly pointless life, a stay-at-home mom volunteers at the local crisis pregnancy center. Defeated, a divorced man falls to his knees. Lonely, a single mother reaches for her Bible. Each longs for a more satisfying life and realizes only God can bridge the gap between here and there.

 

What are your thoughts?

